A Dummy’s Guide to Vegan Replacements

Pin It

So you are curious about becoming a vegan, but you have no idea where to begin. Here is a very simple starter’s guide to some of the most common vegan substitutes for pantry staples.

Item: Butter/Some Margarines

Why it’s not vegan: Butter contains dairy and some margarines contain milk fat/modified milk ingredients.

Vegan  Substitute: Earth Balance Vegan Butter, olive oil, grape seed oil, canola oil, coconut oil.

Item: Milk

Why it’s not vegan: Contains dairy

Vegan Substitute: Almond milk, rice milk, hemp milk, soy milk

Item: White Sugar

Why it’s not vegan: Charred animal bones are used in the refining process

Vegan Substitute: Evaporated cane sugar, coconut sugar.

Item: Honey

Why it’s not vegan: Produced by bees

Vegan Substitute: Agave nectar, brown rice syrup, organic maple syrup.

Item: Cheese

Why it’s not vegan: Contains dairy

Vegan Substitute: Daiya vegan cheeseBute Island Farms Gourmet Cheesevegan parmesan cheesecashew ricotta

Item: Scrambled eggs/Eggs for baking

Why they’re not vegan: They are unfertilized chicken ovum.

Vegan Substitute: Scrambled soft tofu with nutritional yeast and turmeric. Baking: Applesauce, banana, flax meal/water combo, Ener-G Egg Replacer, silken tofu.

Item: Gelatin (found in some gummy candies, marshmallows, gelatin dessert and some low fat yoghurt)

Why it’s not vegan: It is derived from the collagen inside animals’ skin and bones.

Vegan Substitute: Agar flakes or powder

Item: Chicken, Beef, Pork, Fish, Shellfish

Why they’re not vegan: They are animal flesh

Vegan Substitute: Tofu, Yves Tofu products,quinoakamutGardein Vegan Products.

Item: Some Alcohol

Why it’s not vegan: Isinglass (made from fish bladder), egg white, and fish products are used in the filtering or clarifying process.

Vegan Substitute: For a list of vegan alcohol, visit Barnivore.

This list should be enough to send you into a purchasing frenzy. But remember, don’t overwhelm yourself. If you are feeling like you want to throw yourself off a bridge, go back and re-read “A Beginner’s Guide for Transitioning into Veganism”.

For tips on how to keep your grocery bill down, stay tuned for my next article “Vegan on a Budget”.

Courtesy of Contributor Jenny Duffy

Comments

  1. Nice one Jenny! Also important to note that not all soy milks are vegan – some contain whey, which is a milk product. Always best to check the label.

  2. First of all I would like to say great blog!
    I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not
    mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing.

    I’ve had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my
    thoughts out. I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15
    minutes are lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints?
    Cheers!

Trackbacks

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by VegaNiz, The Vegan Project. The Vegan Project said: "So what's vegan and what's not?" A Dummy's Guide to #Vegan Replacements: http://theveganproject.ca/?p=3206 […]

  2. […] For a list of some common vegan replacements, check out “A Dummies Guide to Vegan Replacements”. […]

Speak Your Mind

*